Millstone Home Inspections https://millstonehomeinspections.com Home Inspection Services | DuBois, PA Sat, 12 Dec 2020 13:16:59 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.7.4 https://millstonehomeinspections.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/favicon-150x150.png Millstone Home Inspections https://millstonehomeinspections.com 32 32 Why are Sink S-Traps Bad? https://millstonehomeinspections.com/why-are-sink-s-traps-bad https://millstonehomeinspections.com/why-are-sink-s-traps-bad#respond Sat, 12 Dec 2020 13:16:59 +0000 https://millstonehomeinspections.com/?p=1067 Great example of why home inspectors report s-traps as being a deficiency. While commonly used not so long ago, most plumbing codes have banned S-trap configurations in favor of P-trap style fixtures. The siphoned drains caused by them can cause gas to backup into your home. The risk from sewer gas can be much worse than just that terrible smell, as sewer gases can be poisonous and even explosive.

 

]]>
https://millstonehomeinspections.com/why-are-sink-s-traps-bad/feed 0
Charred Breaker Form A Past Electrical Fire https://millstonehomeinspections.com/charred-breaker-form-a-past-electrical-fire https://millstonehomeinspections.com/charred-breaker-form-a-past-electrical-fire#respond Mon, 22 Jun 2020 21:13:41 +0000 https://millstonehomeinspections.com/?p=1039 This is why all good home inspectors should open electric panels. If your past home inspector didn’t, he did you a disservice. I open every panel cover because I never know what type of electrical deficiencies I could find inside them.

For instants, this week was this heavily breaker that had caught fire in the part without the homeowner knowing. This double tapped breaker was charred from a past internal electrical fire and many other breakers were severely corroded from panel moisture. This type faulty wiring is how houses burn down!
Charred Breaker Form A Past Electrical Fire 2

]]>
https://millstonehomeinspections.com/charred-breaker-form-a-past-electrical-fire/feed 0
Largest Inspection to date! (Drone Pics from roof inspection) https://millstonehomeinspections.com/largest-inspection-to-date https://millstonehomeinspections.com/largest-inspection-to-date#respond Thu, 21 May 2020 10:52:04 +0000 https://millstonehomeinspections.com/?p=969 I recently had the privilege of inspecting this 18,000 sq ft mansion. I pride my self in specializing in the inspections of these old homes and I’m always amazing at the quality and detail used in homes of the late 1800 and early 1900 era. I’m glad I was able to give my clients insight into this stunning property and very appreciative of the 5 star review on Google.

Largest Inspection to date! (Drone Pics from roof inspection) 7
A few drone pictures from the roof inspection. Because I try my best to walk every roof where it is possible a drone is not always required, but the use of my precision control drone is invaluable on a property this large.

Largest Inspection to date! (Drone Pics from roof inspection) 8

Largest Inspection to date! (Drone Pics from roof inspection) 9

Largest Inspection to date! (Drone Pics from roof inspection) 10

 

]]>
https://millstonehomeinspections.com/largest-inspection-to-date/feed 0
Leaking Furnace Condensate Drain Trap https://millstonehomeinspections.com/leaking-furnace-condensate-drain-trap https://millstonehomeinspections.com/leaking-furnace-condensate-drain-trap#respond Thu, 30 Apr 2020 13:04:57 +0000 https://c97213x1.entnet8.com/?p=777
New high-efficiency furnaces produce condensation moisture during the combustion process. One common issue I see with these furnaces is that they have a high frequency of developing leaks. On this home inspection in Clarion, PA I discovered a leak at the condensate drain trap assembly. Because these leaks are usually hidden inside the furnace cabinet, they often go unnoticed by the homeowner. During a home inspection, this is just one of the many areas we inspect to discover defects which can cost you $$$ if they go undetected. This was just one of the deficiencies I discovered for this potential home buyer. If you are in need of a thorough home inspection before buying a property in Clarion or another area in central, northwestern Pennsylvania give me a call today.
Leaking Furnace Condensate Drain Trap 12
]]>
https://millstonehomeinspections.com/leaking-furnace-condensate-drain-trap/feed 0
Commonly Heard Misconceptions Of A Home Inspector https://millstonehomeinspections.com/commonly-heard-misconceptions-of-a-home-inspector https://millstonehomeinspections.com/commonly-heard-misconceptions-of-a-home-inspector#respond Wed, 29 Apr 2020 19:54:28 +0000 https://c97213x1.entnet8.com/?p=772

Today I wanted to address a commonly heard misconception on what exactly a Home Inspector is hired for.

I often hear my clients ask me “What if the home I’m looking to buy fails its inspection?” or sellers will ask me “What do I do if my home fails the inspection?”

When inspecting a home, Millstone Home Inspections will never give it a Pass or Fail grade, nor can any home inspector ask a seller to make repairs to the deficiencies we may find. Think of an inspection, as a professional home checkup to know exactly what you’re buying

Purchasing a home is often very stressful and often things get overlooked during your walkthrough. A home inspector is your eyes into areas of your new home that you may never see, such as the attic, crawlspaces, inside electric panels, inside furnace enclosures and countless other key areas. Using our years of experience and training, we observe and document anything not constructed or installed correctly and test the workings of everything that is permanently installed in your potential home. Shortly after the inspection, you will get a detailed report with any discovered deficiencies along with any recommendations that may bring the property up to current safety standards.
Commonly Heard Misconceptions Of A Home Inspector 14
The inspection and it’s reporting are designed to give you the most information possible on the homes current condition, so you can then make an informed decision on its purchase. There is always a lot of emotions involved in buying a new home and an inspection is just one important step that may possibly make difficult decision easier. Armed with your inspection report, it is now up to you whether you except a homes shortcomings or having them addressed before you buy. If you are using a realtor, they may be able to assist you in this difficult decision.
]]>
https://millstonehomeinspections.com/commonly-heard-misconceptions-of-a-home-inspector/feed 0
Roof Inspection in State College https://millstonehomeinspections.com/roof-inspection-in-state-college https://millstonehomeinspections.com/roof-inspection-in-state-college#respond Wed, 29 Apr 2020 19:47:21 +0000 https://c97213x1.entnet8.com/?p=762
While inspecting a home in State College, PA last week and discovered this unusual way of attaching a boot on a root vent. It was attached with deck screws driven up though the roof sheathing from inside the attic. Not only is this likely to cause leaking, the wind could cause it to come completely loose. You sure see some unique ways building contractors take shortcuts in this business!
Roof Inspection in State College 16
]]>
https://millstonehomeinspections.com/roof-inspection-in-state-college/feed 0
A reason for gutters https://millstonehomeinspections.com/a-reason-for-gutters https://millstonehomeinspections.com/a-reason-for-gutters#respond Wed, 29 Apr 2020 19:43:30 +0000 https://c97213x1.entnet8.com/?p=756
On a home inspection in Emporium, PA, I discovered a good example of why home gutters are a good investment on your home. This 1962 home had no gutters and a roof valley which channeled a large amount of rain water into one corner of the structure. The result was structural damage to the foundation from the freezing and thawing process of all that rain water pooling near the foundation. The foundation had cracked and caused the entire wall to deflect inward a 1/2 inch.
A reason for gutters 18
]]>
https://millstonehomeinspections.com/a-reason-for-gutters/feed 0
Combustion Flue Clearance https://millstonehomeinspections.com/elementor-750 https://millstonehomeinspections.com/elementor-750#respond Wed, 29 Apr 2020 19:39:47 +0000 https://c97213x1.entnet8.com/?p=750

Inspector Notes: Recently on a home inspection I performed in Brockway, PA I found a metal flue that didn’t have the proper roof clearance. This could result in a roof fire from hot embers or the backdrafting of toxic gases into the home. With winter approaching this maybe something you want to check on your own home.

Combustion Flue Clearance 20
]]>
https://millstonehomeinspections.com/elementor-750/feed 0